NEWS – NOV 10 2014

An Triail

Daltaí ón séú bliain a d’fhreastal ar an dráma “An Triail” in amharclann “The Belltable” i Luimneach le déanaí.
Is cuid de chúrsa na hArdteistiméireachta é an dráma seo. Bhain na daltaí ardtaitneamh as an léiriú a rinne an comhlacht drámaíochta “Fíbín “. B’fhiú go mór dul ann.

6th Year Group who went to ‘An Triail’
Hennessey Cup First Round- U15 Hurling
Our U15 hurlers renewed rivalry with Scoil Ruain Killenaule in the quarter final of the Hennessey Cup on Thursday 16th October. What a fantastic game of Hurling this proved to be with Roscrea and Killenaule going for the win from the off with some brilliant scores from both sides. Neil Maher had an early goal for Roscrea and excellent points fron Owen Tynan, Glenn loughnane and Coley Cleary saw us build up an early lead. Scoil Ruain had their own stars and excellent points from frees and play by Luke Nolan, Danny Lyons kept them well in touch with Roscrea just holding a four-point lead at half time.
Scoil Ruain turned this around in the second half and took over control for a ten minute spell when they powered into a big 7 or 8 point lead after a 3 goal burst midway through the half. To the credit of the  Roscrea lads they didn’t panic and a brilliant second goal for Cillian Sampson put us back in the picture. Powered on by Paddy Sammon, Cillian Ryan, Glen Loughnane, Coley Cleary and Roddy Teehan who had now gone to centre back Roscrea got the vital scores to draw level with a well worked point by Owen Tynan. Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré 3-16 to Scoil Ruain 4-13.
We now faced extra time – 2 periods of 10 minutes each. Scoil Ruain raced into a two point early lead. A good passing move by Roscrea saw Cillian Ryan finish to the net to put Roscrea a point up. A goal in extra time is always a big scoreand this gave Roscrea the boost to go on and win, outscoring Scoil Ruain by 2-5 to 1-3 for the remaining time. This was a great win for our young hurlers and we now face Carrick On Suir in the semifinal in the 2nd wek of November.
Coláiste Phobal Panel- Cillian Ryan, Patrick Sammon, Coley Cleary, Nathan Fogarty, Eamonn Cleary, Cillian Sampson, Dara Maher (All Shinrone), Roddy Teehan, Jack O’Brien, Neil Maher, Peter Maher, Jack Kirwan, Jack Bolger, Cian Duane (All Moneygall), Brian Parlon, Owen Tynan, Glenn Loughnane, Aaron Loughnane, Darragh Doyle, Tadhg Nash, Edward Conlon, Adam Dooley, Conor Nolan, Martin Cussen, John Nolan, Graham Fahy, Eoin Harte (All Roscrea), David Smith O’Brien, Michael Grehan (Borris-in-Ossory), Jake Delaney (Kyle), Danny Bergin, Alan Mullally, Alistair Robson (All Ballyskenagh-Killavilla), Peadar Fitzpatrick (Borris-Kilcotton).