News – Mar 06 2020

School Concert
On Wednesday 11th March Coláiste Phobal will be presenting a Variety Concert showcasing the talents of students from 1st year to 6th year. This concert will be in St. Cronan’s Catholic Church starting at 7.30pm. All are welcome to attend with proceeds going to the Uganda Mission Fund. Admission will be €10 for Adults and €5 for students and OAP’s. There will also be a special guest, Tipperary Music Generation Development Officer and Master fiddle player Aidan O’Donnell. This promises to be a most entertaining evening and your support would be greatly appreciated.


1st & 2nd Year Boys basketball

Our First and Second Year boys basketball teams travelled to Thurles to play Coláiste Mhuire on Wednesday 25th February in their second pool game. Our first year boys had great win and have really improved since their last game. The second year boys also put in a brave performance but it was not to be their day. The boys will play their final pool game against Borrisokane in the coming weeks.


Camogie – Offaly Joint Minor Captain 2020

5th year student Sharon Shanahan – Joint Captain of the Offaly minor panel and member of the Senior Offaly Camogie Panel.

3rd year student Orlagh Phelan – Offaly under 16 Camogie Captain

Well done also to Eilish Gleeson, Ciara Sammon and Jane Cleary who are also members of the Offaly minor panel. We are delighted to have Sharon Shanahan as Joint Captain of the Offaly minor Camogie panel and Orlagh Phelan as Captain of the Offaly under 16 Camogie Panel. Ciara Maher is on the Offaly under 15 panel and Nicola Cleary, Grace Cleary and Louise O Brien are on the Offaly under 14 Panel. Fiona and Andrea Scully are also on the Laois minor camogie panel. Best wishes to everyone and Coláiste is delighted to be represented so well.

Past Pupil

Tina Hannon-Bradley, past pupil who narrowly lost the Camogie club All-Ireland Senior Final with her club Slaughneil to Sarsfields of Galway. Slaughneil won the previous 3 All-Ireland club titles. No doubt Tina will have better days on the Camogie field in the coming years.


Tipperary Community Games

Well done to 2nd year student Kian Tynan who came 3rd in the Tipperary Community Games Talent County Final recently for Music. This is a great achievement and well done.


Great Reading challenge 2020

The Great Reading Challenge 2020 is Between Feb 24th and March 31st. All students are invited to borrow and read a book from the school library or Take A book/Leave a Book on the book shelf. When finished, they write a review on their chosen book and submit to their English teacher by March 31st. The Winner will be announced on April 3rd 2020. All completed book reviews will be entered in to a draw for a €50 One for All Voucher. This is a wonderful opportunity for all students to get involved in.

School Activities 

TY students were away in Paris this week Tuesday to Thursday and we will have details of their trip next week. The Leaving Cert Mock Irish and German orals took place this week giving students a final chance to get a run through before the real thing. There was also a ‘Lets talk about drugs and alcohol’ talk for second year students and parents on Monday 2nd March. On Tuesday 3rd there was a 6th year Agricultural Science visit to Gurteen College.


Congratulations to all who took part in the Munster indoor athletics finals in Nenagh on Tuesday 3rd March.  It was our largest team of athletes to represent the school at this event in a field of over 1000 students. Everyone ran, threw and jumped to the best of their ability and wore the school singlets with pride.

Ceola Bergin in first year won gold in the minor girls shot putt and consistently threw well ahead of the field.

Aaron Dunford in first year won a silver in the 60 metre, minor boys sprint and ran a personal best time.

Dayle O’Meara in fifth year won bronze in the long jump and also achieved a personal best on his very first jump.

Training will continue and the next outing for our team will be the County Outdoor Championship in Tullamore.

Minor Girls: Ceola Bergin, Laura Hogan, Emma Phelan, Fanni Bosze, Grace Mulrooney

Medal Winners: Ceola Bergin, Dayle Collins, Aaron Dunford